L.N. Mithila University

L.N. Mithila University

Darbhanga, Bihar
Official Website: http://www.lnmu.in/

About L.N. Mithila University

The Temple of Learning Lalit Narayan Mithila Vishvidyalaya, Darbhanga is an outcome of the cherished desire of the people of this region. Eminent academicians like Dr. Amarnatha Jha, Dr. R.C. Mazumdar, Dr. A. S. Altekar, Dr. Sunit Kumar Chaterjee and many others had expressed their view in favour of the establishment of modern University at Darbhanga. The demand was voiced time and again on the floors of the state legislatures and in the Parliament.

Mithila University was established on August 5, 1972 by an Ordinance of the Government of Bihar subsequently enacted through legislatures. The University is governed by the Bihar State Universities Act, 1976. The University was renamed as LALIT NARAYAN MITHILA UNIVERSITY vide University notification No. 6760-7244 dated 28 April, 1980.

The univesity has a picturesque and lushgreen campus spread over an area of nearly 230 acres.

Founded In


University Type

State University

Recognized By  




Campus Area

200 acres

Total Faculty


Constituent Colleges


Affiliated Colleges



173774 (total books)


02 (Boys Hostel)

02 (Girls Hostel)

How to Reach

2 Km away from Darbhanga Junction
1.2 Km away from Darbhanga Bus Stand

L.N. Mithila University Admission 2019

Admission will be offered on preference cum merit basis on the performance in the CET 2018. The centers of the Entrance Test will be fixed and communicated by the university. The candidates will be required to submit only the filled-in application form without enclosures. The enclosures (documents) mentioned in the instructions for filling in the application form are to be submitted later after receiving the letter of offer for admission to B. Ed. after the declaration of the CET 2018 result. The candidate must write their preference for college/institute. Unmarked college/institute shall not be considered for admission even if the candidate qualifies the CET 2018.

Lalit Narayan Mithila University (LNMU) offers B.A, B. Com, B. Sc., B. Li Sc., B. Ed. LL.B and MBBS programs at UG level. It also offers M.A, M.Sc, MBA, M.Com, MCA, MD and MS programs at PG level. LNMU also offers Ph.D., D.Sc. and D.Litt. programs at Doctorate level along with the Diploma programs in various specializations.

Key Points:

  • Application form is available on the official website of LNMU or can be obtained from the admission office of the university.
  • Basic eligibility for B.A and B.Com is a pass in 10+2 while for B.Tech and B.Sc, a 10+2 pass in Science group is mandatory.
  • B.A, B.Sc and B.Com admission is offered on the basis of merit while B.Tech program requires a valid score in Combined Admission Test conducted by LNMU followed by counselling.
  • Any Graduation degree is sufficient for B.Li.Sc degree. The admission is based on merit.
  • For MBBS program, a valid NEET UG score will be considered for the admission while MD & MS programs require a good NEET PG score.
  • Students with any Bachelor’s or Master’s degree are eligible to apply for B.Ed course. The students have to qualify in Common Entrance Test (CET) conducted by LNMU to secure admission.
  • Final admission will be granted on the basis of merit followed by an interview.
  • LNMU conducts a Combined Admission Test to offer admission in MCA while CMAT or MAT qualified candidates are eligible to apply for MBA course.
  •  Ph.D. program requires a PG degree with 55% marks in aggregate. The admission is offered on the basis of performance in Pre-Ph.D. Registration Test (PRT) followed by an interview.

LNMU Applicatin Process 2019:

Application Form can be downloaded from the official website of LNMU on payment of application fee of INR 1000 through challan. Application cum prospectus can also be obtained by filing a request for application form on payment of INR 1050 through DD.

The Dean, Students’ Welfare

L.N. Mithila University, Kameshwarnagar


The eligible and interested candidates can fill application form by following the given steps:

Step 1: Visit the official website and click on ‘New Registration’.

Step 2: Fill the application form with correct details

Step 3: Upload photographs and signature then click on the submit button.

Step 4: Click on ‘View Form’ and download the completely filled application form.

Documents required to be attached with the application form are:

  • Mark sheet of qualifying examinations
  • 3 Passport Size photographs
  • Character Certificate
  • Migration Certificate (if applicable)
  • Income Certificate (if applicable)
  • Category Certificate (if applicable)
  • Domicile Certificate (if applicable)

Step 6: Duly filled application form along with all the documents is required to be sent to:

Lalit Narayan Mithila University

Kameshwaranagar, Mansaar Colony,

Darbhanga, Bihar-846004

LNMU Online Exam Result 2019

Steps to Check Result of LNMU:

  • Visit official website of Lalit Narayan Mithila University click on “Direct Link to Check UG & PG Courses Regular & Private Result”
  • On the board result portal, click on UG & PG Result & then select BA, BSC, BCOM, MA, MSC & MCOM following part result
  • Choose result method between Name Wise and Roll number wise
  • For Roll number wise result – enter your roll number and click on get result button
  • For Name Wise Result – Enter your name and father’s name (at least 3 letters of each name) & click on get the result.
  • Then print your result and take a print out to use as duplicate University of Kerala (Regular & Private) mark sheet

LNMU Admit Card Download

Instructions for Downloading the LMNU Term End Exam Admit Card 2019:

1. In order to download the admit card, candidates have to open the official website of Directorate of Distance Education Lalit Narayan Mithila University- www.ddelnmu.ac.in

2. In the home page, candidates have to visit the Student Information section for further activities.

3. Here the candidates will get the link for Download Hall Ticket for June 2019 exam.

4. After clicking on the link, the candidates will be redirected to a new page for downloading the admit card.

5. Here the candidates have to enter their Enrollment Number and then have to click on Download Admit Card.

6. After that, the students will be able to download the admit card in order to attend the examination.

L.N. Mithila University Affiliated Colleges

Top Affiliated colleges are:
  • Mithila Minority Dental College and Hospital - [MMDCH], Darbhanga
  • Dr SM Naqui Imam Dental College and Hospital - [DSMNIDCH], Darbhanga
  • Darbhanga Medical College, Darbhanga
  • Ram Krishna College - [RKC], Madhubani
  • Ganesh Dutt College - [GDC], Begusarai
  • C. M Science college, Darbhanga
  • C. M. College, Darbhanga
  • Millat Teacher's Training College - [MTTC], Madhubani
  • Bibi Fatima Teacher's Training College -[BFTTC], Samastipur
  • Samastipur College, Samastipur
  • K.B. Jha College, Katihar

L.N. Mithila University Major Courses

LNMU  offers various courses like B.A, B.Com, B.Sc, B.Ed., MA, M.Sc., M.Com, etc. The Bachelor of Education program, popularly known as B.Ed., is a professional course of two-year duration. The institution provides state-of-the-art facilities to students who come from different parts of the country. There are various departments in this University which are as follows:

Bio- Technology



Business Administration






Home Science



Music & Drama



Political Science